Youth Volunteer Scholarship

Aaron Joel Smith Youth Volunteer Memorial Scholarship

You’re never too young to make a difference. United Way’s Aaron Joel Smith Memorial Youth Volunteer Scholarship recognizes teens in south central Kansas who are active volunteers, giving back to their community through their time and talents.

The memorial scholarships honor Aaron Joel Smith, along with three of his classmates, who tragically lost their lives in a 1991 car accident. The awards are a tribute to Smith’s spirit of volunteerism and his involvement as a coordinator for the 1991 United Way fundraising campaign at Northeast Magnet School in Wichita. The scholarships have been granted annually to outstanding youth volunteers since 1992.

The program rewards three high school students with scholarships in the amounts of $10,000, $15,000 and $25,000.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients.
  • $25,000 scholarship – Lakshmishree Sivakumar – East High School (Wichita USD 259)
  • $15,000 scholarship – Angela Davis – Eisenhower High School (Goddard USD 265)
  • $10,000 scholarship – Isaiaz Whitaker – South High School (Wichita USD 259)
  • This scholarship is open to residents of Sedgwick, Butler, Barber, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Pratt, Sumner and Reno counties.
  • The applicant must be a junior or senior in high school.
  • The applicant must have volunteered a minimum of 200 hours outside of school and organizations/societies that require volunteerism.
  • Hours reported should be reflective of volunteer work completed during the applicant’s high school years (freshman – senior).


The 2025 scholarship application will open during the last quarter of this year. Please check back!


Contact Heather Deters, Community Impact Manager for Education, at or (316) 267‑1321 ext. 4234.